[ Webinar ] 🕵️♀️ Mercateam product roadmap: key releases in 2022 and 2023 release reveals ❤️ [Thursday, January 27, 2023]
mercateam logo
11 April 2022

Industry 4.0: How to ensure the competitiveness of smart factories in France?

What do you know about Industry 4.0? This term is used to describe the fourth great industrial revolution, characterized by the new production methods used in factories. Indeed, to optimize their production lines, these "factories of the future" rely on artificial intelligence, robotics, the Internet of Things, 3D printing or cloud computing. All these technologies are evolving at the speed of light and must be mastered by any company wishing to be competitive.

Despite its cutting-edge technological sectors, France is now suffering from the deindustrialisation that began 40 years ago.

A STRONG REINDUSTRIALISATION CHALLENGE FOR SMART FACTORIES

While the gap in France's trade balance has been widening since the early 2000s, it seems that the Covid crisis, and more recently, the war in Ukraine, have suddenly raised awareness of the need for reindustrialization. The figures speak for themselves: the production of goods represented 23% of French GDP in the 1980s. Today, it represents only 13.5% according to France Industrie.

French sectors at the forefront of 4.0 technology

Certain high-tech sectors contribute to France's international reputation. These include the luxury goods industry (where France is the world leader), the automotive industry (2nd in Europe), the aerospace industry (2nd largest exporter in the world) and the pharmaceutical industry. On a European level, France is even the country that attracts the most foreign investors.

However, if we detach ourselves from these good students of French industry, we must admit that the production of goods on the territory has been constantly falling for 40 years. Private companies have turned to a competitiveness based on costs rather than on the value produced.

While this strategy has allowed France to turn to a service economy, recent events highlight the need for a state to have its own resources.

The pandemic and the war in Ukraine underline the crucial need to reindustrialise the country

The Covid crisis highlights an obvious point: a country that depends on others is, by nature, a fragile country. More recently, the war in Ukraine has added insult to injury: while Russia supplies nearly 18% of the world's gas, soaring energy prices are penalizing French companies, especially in the aeronautics and agri-food industries.

These unfortunate events have kicked off a new era, and this is particularly true in this presidential campaign period. "We must reindustrialise the country". This is the watchword of all our candidates.

The problem is that reindustrialisation will not happen overnight. And above all, one of the key factors for success must not be overlooked: making industrial jobs more attractive.

MAKE EMPLOYEE TRAINING AN ABSOLUTE PRIORITY TO MEET THE CHALLENGES OF INDUSTRY 4.0

The growing complexity of industrial technologies goes hand in hand with the increasingly high requirements in terms of the level of qualification of employees. Despite the number of vacancies in the industrial sector, companies are having difficulty recruiting.

A shortage of skills on the territory

It is no longer a secret: in France, the lack of skills is flagrant. According to the Banque de France, nearly 40% of business leaders are having difficulty recruiting.

The reason? The lack of interest in technical training in favour of service professions. According to Éric Trappier, CEO of Dassault Aviation,[the educational system has a lot to do with this]: " The national educational system should realize that it has a duty to guide people towards the fields that need them most.

Skills shortage in French factories
Skills shortage in the industry

But that is not all. This skills shortage is also strongly linked to the fact that the industry is based on increasingly advanced technologies, thus requiring advanced scientific and mathematical knowledge.

For example, the most sought-after skills include artificial intelligence, software development and digital cloud. More traditional manufacturing skills (machining, assembly, quality management, process engineering, etc.) are also suffering from a shortage of candidates.

As a result, there is an urgent need to rethink the training system completely. Until now, the transmission of knowledge has focused on traditional know-how, to the detriment of skills related to digital tools.

How is it possible to ensure the competitiveness of factories in this context?

Skills management in response to the competitiveness challenges of Industry 4.0

Maintaining the competitiveness of factories 4.0 relies above all on the employees who work there. This is why it is essential to make industrial jobs more attractive, in particular by re-evaluating salaries and allowing operators to undergo continuous training.

Internally, the SWP (strategic workforce planning) plays an essential role. What is at stake? That each company is able to map its skills precisely, in order to anticipate training and recruitment needs. Indeed, the evolution of technologies used in factories requires employees to be versatile, especially when dealing with increasingly sophisticated machines.

However, many industry players struggle to manage the different skills of their teams effectively. In fact, skills management is most often done via Excel spreadsheets that are difficult to update. It is estimated that 80% of operators do not have computers at their disposal. No wonder that productivity gains are a real headache for managers: the way to manage teams has been the same since the 90s.

The need for digitalization is therefore becoming more and more critical in order to meet the requirements of tomorrow's industry. On the one hand, factories have an interest in training their employees to the new technological tools. On the other hand, they need to equip themselves with modern solutions to gain in productivity. Whatever the case, the secret of the competitiveness of the factories of the future lies in one word: people.

In summary

In the era of Factory 4.0, France's industrial reconquest is necessary to guarantee the country's sovereignty. Reindustrialization will not happen overnight, and requires real work to make industrial jobs more attractive. National education has an important role to play in highlighting the training courses that lead to these jobs. Companies have an equally important role to play in this reindustrialization process. It is up to them to implement strategies to attract and retain talent. In particular, this means increasing salaries, improving internal skills management and continuing training, which guarantees the employability of operators.

Subscribe to our newsletter

chevron-down-circle

logo mercateam
11 avril 2022

Industrie 4.0 : Comment assurer la compétitivité des usines intelligentes en France ?

Que savez-vous de l'industrie 4.0 ? Ce terme est utilisé pour décrire la quatrième grande révolution industrielle, caractérisée par les nouveaux modes de production utilisés dans les usines. En effet, pour optimiser leurs chaînes de production, ces "usines du futur" s'appuient sur l'intelligence artificielle, la robotique, l'internet des objets, l'impression 3D ou encore cloud computing. Autant de technologies qui évoluent à la vitesse de la lumière, et dont la maîtrise est obligatoire pour toute entreprise qui aspire à être compétitive.

En dépit de ses secteurs technologiques de pointe, la France souffre aujourd'hui de la désindustrialisation amorcée il y a 40 ans.

UN FORT ENJEU DE REINDUSTRIALISATION POUR LES USINES INTELLIGENTES

Alors que le fossé de la balance commerciale française se creuse depuis le début des années 2000, il semble que la crise du Covid, et plus récemment, la guerre en Ukraine, aient soudainement permis d'éveiller les consciences quant aux besoins de réindustrialisation. Les chiffres parlent d'eux-mêmes : la production de biens représentait 23% du PIB français dans les années 80. Aujourd'hui, elle n'en représente plus que 13,5% selon France Industrie.

Des secteurs français à la pointe de la technologie 4.0

Certains secteurs de pointe participent à la renommée de la France à l’international. On pense bien évidemment aux industries du luxe (dont l'Hexagone est le leader mondial), de l'automobile (2e au niveau européen), de l'aérospatial (2e exportateur mondial) ou encore de la pharmaceutique. Sur le plan européen, la France est même le pays qui attire le plus les investisseurs étrangers.

Pourtant, si l'on se détache de ces bons élèves de l'industrie française, force est de constater que la production de biens sur le territoire ne cesse de chuter depuis 40 ans. Les sociétés privées se sont tournées vers une compétitivité basée sur les coûts plutôt que sur la valeur produite.

Si cette stratégie a permis à la France de se tourner vers une économie de services, les récents évènements mettent en lumière le besoin pour un État de disposer de ses propres ressources.

La pandémie et la guerre en Ukraine soulignent le besoin crucial de réindustrialiser le pays

La crise du Covid souligne un point évident : un pays qui dépend des autres est, par nature, un pays fragile. Plus récemment, la guerre en Ukraine est venue enfoncer le clou : alors que la Russie fournit près de 18% du gaz au niveau mondial, la flambée des cours de l'énergie pénalise les entreprises françaises, notamment la filière aéronautique et agroalimentaire.

Ces évènements malheureux ont donné un coup de pied dans la fourmilière, et cela se vérifie tout particulièrement en cette période de campagne présidentielle. "Il faut réindustrialiser le pays". Tel est le mot d'ordre de tous nos candidats.

Seulement voilà : la réindustrialisation ne va pas se faire du jour au lendemain. Et surtout, il ne faut pas négliger un des facteurs clés de succès de cette entreprise : rendre les métiers de l'industrie plus attractifs.

FAIRE DE LA FORMATION DES SALARIÉS UNE PRIORITÉ ABSOLUE POUR RÉPONDRE AUX ENJEUX DE L'INDUSTRIE 4.0

La complexité croissante des technologies industrielles va de pair avec les exigences de plus en plus élevées en matière de niveau de qualification des salariés. En dépit du nombre de postes à pourvoir dans le secteur industriel, les entreprises peinent à recruter.

Une pénurie de compétences sur le territoire

Ce n'est plus un secret : en France, le manque de compétences est flagrant. Selon la Banque de France, près de 40% des chefs d'entreprise ont des difficultés à recruter.

En cause ? Le désintérêt pour les formations techniques au profit de métiers du tertiaire. Selon Éric Trappier, PDG de Dassault Aviation, [le système éducatif n'y est pas pour rien] : « Il faudrait que l'Éducation nationale prenne conscience qu'elle a un devoir d'orienter vers les filières qui en ont le plus besoin ».

Pénurie de compétences dans les usines françaises
Pénurie de compétences dans l'industrie

Mais ce n'est pas tout. Cette pénurie de compétences est aussi fortement liée au fait que l'industrie repose sur des technologies de plus en plus pointues, nécessitant ainsi des connaissances scientifiques et mathématiques poussées.

Par exemple, parmi les compétences les plus recherchées, on retrouve sans surprise l’intelligence artificielle, le développement de logiciels et le cloud numérique. Les compétences de fabrication plus classiques (usinage, assemblage, gestion de la qualité, ingénierie des processus, etc.) souffrent aussi d'une pénurie de candidats.

De ce fait, il devient urgent de repenser complètement le système de formation. Jusqu’à présent, la transmission de connaissances se concentre sur les savoir-faire traditionnels, au détriment des compétences liées aux outils numériques.

Comment est-il possible d'assurer la compétitivité des usines dans ce contexte ?

La gestion des compétences en réponse aux enjeux de compétitivité de l'industrie 4.0

Le maintien de la compétitivité des usines 4.0 s'appuie avant tout sur les salariés qui y travaillent. C'est pourquoi il est primordial de stimuler l'attractivité des emplois industriels, notamment en réévaluant les salaires, et en permettant aux opérateurs et opératrices de se former en continu.

En interne, la GPEC (gestion prévisionnelle des emplois et des compétences) joue d'ailleurs un rôle essentiel. L'enjeu ? Que chaque entreprise soit en mesure de cartographier précisément les compétences dont elle dispose, afin d'anticiper les besoins en formation et en recrutement. En effet, l'évolution des technologies utilisées au sein des usines implique que les salariés fassent preuve de polyvalence, notamment face aux machines de plus en plus sophistiquées.

Or, beaucoup d'acteurs de l'industrie peinent à gérer efficacement les différents savoir-faire de leurs équipes. Dans les faits, la gestion des compétences se fait le plus souvent via des tableurs Excel dont la mise à jour est laborieuse. On estime d’ailleurs que 80% des opérateurs n’ont pas d’ordinateurs à leur disposition. Pas étonnant que le gain de productivité soit un véritable casse-tête pour les managers : la façon de gérer les équipes est la même depuis les années 90.

Le besoin de digitalisation se fait donc de plus en plus pressant afin de faire face aux exigences de l'industrie de demain. D’une part, les usines ont intérêt à former leurs salariés aux nouveaux outils technologiques. D’autre part, elles ont besoin de s’équiper de solutions modernes pour gagner en productivité. Quoi qu’il en soit, le secret de la compétitivité des usines du futur tient en un mot : l’humain.

En résumé

À l'ère de l'usine 4.0, la reconquête industrielle de la France est nécessaire pour garantir la souveraineté du pays. La réindustrialisation ne se fera pas en un jour, et requiert un véritable travail dont l'objectif est de rendre les emplois industriels plus attractifs. L'Éducation Nationale a un rôle important à jouer en mettant davantage en avant les parcours de formation qui débouchent sur ces métiers. Les entreprises ont un poids tout aussi important dans ce processus de réindustrialisation. C'est à elles de mettre en œuvre des stratégies pour attirer les talents, et les fidéliser. Cela passe notamment par une revalorisation des salaires, une meilleure gestion des compétences en interne et de la formation continue, garante de l'employabilité des opérateurs et opératrices.

chevron-down-circle